BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF )

ARTESIAN WATER COMPANY, INC. TO )

IMPLEMENT A RATE APPLICABLE TO ) PSC DOCKET NO. 12-227T
)
)
)

12-INCH PRIVATE FIRE DETECTOR CHECK
SERVICE -

{FILED MAY 23, 2012)
ORDER NO. 8170

This 3™ day of July 2012, the Commission determines and orders
the following: |

WHEREAS, in late January of 2011, before filing a petition
requesting an increase in its existing tariff rates for water service,
Artesian Water Company, Inc. {(“AWC”) initiated a 12-inch private fire
detector check service for a new customer, the Delaware River and Bay
Authbrity or the “DRBA”, and billed the DRBA pursuant to the existing
tariff’s rates; and

WHEREAS, on April 11, 2011, in PSC Docket No. 11-207, AWC filed a
petition requesting -an increase in its existing tariff rates and, as
part of its petition, AWC removed, by mistake, its 12-inch private
fire detector checkrservice rate based on data from a test year that
ended December 10, 2010; and

WHEREAS, the Cqmmission approved the final tariff rates effective
January 1, 2012, for PSC Docket No. 11-207, and the final tariff rates
did not include a 12-inch private fire detector check service rate;
and

WHEREAS, when AWC converted from quarterly to monthly billing in

April 2012, no rate existed in their billing program for the 12-inch

private fire detector check service. Thus, AWC was unable to continue
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to bill the DRBA for the service it has been providing since January
of 2011; and

WHEREAS, on May 23, 2012, AWC filed an application seeking
approval, on an expedited basis, to implement a revision to AWC’'s
existing tariff to implement a new rate applicable for 12-inch private
fire detector check service; and

WHEREAS, on June 12, 2012, AWC alsc filed a request for a waiver
of the 60-day notice requirement for tariff changes so that the
Commission c¢ould act expeditiously with regard to AWC’'s new tariff
rate implementation; and

WHEREAS, by letter dated June 12, 2012, AWC notified the DRBA of
its pending application; and

WHEREAS, on June 19, 2012, in PSC Order No. 8159, the Commission
granted AWC’'s walver request for a waiver of the 60-day notice
requirement and ordered that the Secretary of the Commission provide
notice to the DRBA of the July 3, 2012 proceeding and the opportunity
to éffer any objections to the proposed charge; aﬁd

WHEREAS, Staff has reviewed AWC’s application and based in its
review, Staff has found that the proposed new rate is in compliance
with previous Commission Orders and with Delaware laws and
regulations. Thus, Staff recommends that the Commission authorize AWC
to implement a vevision to AWC’'s existing tariff to add the new rate
for 12-inch private fire detector service to be charged beginning on
or after July 3, 2012, and to permit AWC to incorporate the revised

tariff pages which add this new rate for 12—inch‘private fire detector

service; and
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WHEREAS, the DRBA did not oppose the proposed implementation by
AWC of a tariff revision to add the new rate for 12-inch private fire
detector service to be charged beginning on or after July 3, 2012;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE
VOTE OF NOT FEWER THAN THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That the Commission hereby approves Artesian Water Company,
Inc.'s application to implement a revision to the company’'s existing
tariff to add a new rate for 12-inch private fire detector service to
be charged beginning on or after July 3, 2012, and to permit Arﬁesian
Water Company, Inc. to incorporate the revised tariff pages which add
this new rate for 12-inch private fire detector service. The new

reviged tariff pages are attached as Exhibit “A.”

2. That Artesian Water Company, Inc. 1is hereby notified that
it will be assessed the costs of this proceeding pursuant to 26 Del.
C. 8114 (b).

3. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority
to enter such further Orders in this matter as may be deemed necessary

or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Chair

/s/ Joann T. Conaway
Commissioner

/s/ Jaymes B. lLester
Commissioner
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/s/ Dallas Winslow
Commigsioner

Commissioner

ATTEST:

/8/ Alisa Carrow Bentley
Secretary




EXHIBIT “A”

REVISED TARIFF LEAF

ARTESTAN WATER COMPANY, INC.




ARTESIAN WATER COMPANY, INC. Thirty-fourth Revised Sheet No. 5

P.8.C.No. 1 - WATER Canceling
Effective: July 3, 2012 Thirty-third Revised Sheet No. 5

Private Fire Protection Charge:

A charge for customers who are provided with private fire protection through
a sprinkler system or a private fire hydrant. The charge will be billed monthly in advance as
follows:

1-1/2"detector check. .oo.oovvivivnviiiiieieieees $ 19.28
2" detector Check. . ovv it i $ 4095
4" detector CRECK ..ot veree e e e $ 106.69
6" detectorcheck. ..o oo $ 22747
8" detector check....ovvveeer i, ... % 37870
10" detector check. . oo ivivireeeeeeeeas $ 565.73
127 detector check. . ..oovvir e e $ 618.19
Charge per private hydrant.......ccoveecvcervene § 227.47

Charges for water registered on bypass meters installed on lines providing private
fire protection will be billed monthly in arrears. All water registered on bypass meters will be

billed at the rate of $ 8.277 per 1,000 gallons.

Distribution Svystem Improvement Charge

In addition to the net charges provided for in this Tariff, a charge of 0.00% will
apply to all charges rendered on or after June 10, 2011.

This charge will be recomputed semi-annually, using the elements prescribed by
Section 314 of Title 26 of the Delaware Code.

SPECIAL SERVICES

The following Rules and Rates are applicable throughout the territory served by
the Company for the following specified services.

Payment Terms:

All bills are due and payable upon presentation. See section titled "Bills and
Payment" for additional information.
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ARTESIAN WATER COMPANY, INC. Thirty-third-fourth Revised Sheet No. 5

P.S.C.No. 1 - WATER Canceling
Effective: Januarytluly 3, 2012 Thirty-seeend-third Revised Sheet No. 5

Private Fire Protection Charge:

A charge for customers who are provided with private fire protection through
a sprinkler system or a private fire hydrant. The charge will be billed monthly in advance as
follows:

1-1/2"detector check. ... e, § 19.28
2" detector check. ... vveo e $ 40095
4" detector heck. ... ecreer s e e e $ 106.69
6" detector check. ..o § 22747
8" detector check......covviiiiii e $ 378.70
10" detector check....ooovivviiiiiiii, $ 565.73
127 detector cheek. . oot i iiiiiiieniinseanee. $ 618.19
Charge per private hydrant.....cccconnnccnenne. $ 227.47

Charges for water registered on bypass meters installed on lines providing private
fire protection will be billed monthly in arrears. All water registered on bypass meters will be
billed at the rate of $ 8.277 per 1,000 gallons.

Distribution System Improvement Charge

In addition to the net charges provided for in this Tariff, a charge of 0.00% will
apply to all charges rendered on or after June 10, 2011.

This charge will be recomputed semi-annually, using the elements prescribed by
Section 314 of Title 26 of the Delaware Code.

SPECIAL SERVICES

The following Rules and Rates are applicable throughout the territory served by
the Company for the following specified services.

Payment Terms:

. All bills are due and payable upon presentation. See section titled "Bills and
Payment" for additional information.
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