
  BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 
  OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE 
 
 
IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF  )  
ARTESIAN WATER COMPANY, INC. FOR AN ) PSC DOCKET NO. 04-42 
INCREASE IN WATER RATES   )  
(FILED FEBRUARY 5, 2004)   )  
 
 
 ORDER NO. 6378 
    

AND NOW, to-wit, this 16th day of March, 2004; 

WHEREAS, Artesian Water Company, Inc. ("Artesian" or "the Company"), 

having, on February 5, 2004, filed with the Public Service Commission 

("the Commission") an application with proposed revised tariffs designed 

to produce a 24.22% annual increase in the Company's revenues or 

approximately $8,800,000 in additional revenues; and 

WHEREAS, by the same application, Artesian has further sought to 

revise its tariffed rules and regulations concerning, among other things: 

(1) adding language to charge $30.00 to customers who miss scheduled 

appointments; (2) deleting the “Standby Connection” and adding a “Cross 

Connections” sections; and (3) adding language to not mail refund checks 

totaling less than $10.00 to customers who have left Artesian’s service 

territory, but making these refunds available if requested by the former 

customer.  The Company is also requesting that the Commission reopen PSC 

Regulation Docket No. 13 to review interest rates for customer deposits; 

and 

WHEREAS, the Commission having determined that pursuant to the 

authority granted to the Commission by 26 Del. C. § 306(a)(1), the filing 

by Artesian shall be suspended pending full and complete evidentiary 

hearings into the justness and reasonableness of the proposed new rates, 

tariffs, and rule revisions; now, therefore, 

 



 
IT IS ORDERED: 

 1. That the rates, tariffs, and rule revisions filed by Artesian 

Water Company, Inc., with the Delaware Public Service Commission on 

February 5, 2004, are hereby suspended pursuant to 26 Del. C.  

§ 306(a)(1) and shall not be placed into force or effect except pursuant 

to further Order of the Commission or pursuant to law, and then only to 

the extent such further Commission Order or such law may permit or allow. 

 2. That, pursuant to the requirements of 26 Del. C. §§ 102A 

and 304, Artesian Water Company, Inc., shall give public notice of the 

application for increased rates and proposed revisions to its rules and 

regulations by causing the publication of the notice attached hereto as 

Exhibit "A" in The News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers, in 

two column format, outlined in black, on the following dates: 

Tuesday, March 23, 2004 (The News Journal) 

Wednesday, March 24, 2004 (Delaware State News). 

Proof of such publication shall be filed with the Commission as soon 

thereafter as is reasonably practicable but prior to the date set for any 

evidentiary hearing in this docket. 

 3. That Robert P. Haynes is designated as Hearing Examiner for 

this matter pursuant to the terms of 26 Del. C. § 502 and 29 Del. C. ch. 

101 to schedule and conduct such evidentiary hearings as may be necessary 

to have a full and complete evidentiary record concerning the justness 

and reasonableness of the proposed increased rates and to thereafter file 

a report and recommendations with the Commission.  Dates and times for 

serving and responding to discovery shall be included in the procedural 

schedule. Hearing Examiner Haynes is specifically delegated the authority 

to grant or deny petitions seeking leave to intervene.  In addition, 
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Hearing Examiner Haynes is delegated the authority, under 26 Del. C. 

§ 102A, to determine the form and manner of any further public notice in 

this matter.  James McC. Geddes, Esquire, is designated Rate Counsel for 

this matter.  The Applicant is hereby placed on notice that the cost of 

the proceeding will be charged to it under the provisions of 26 Del. C. 

§ 114(b)(1). 

 4. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to 

enter such other or further Orders in this matter as may be deemed 

necessary or proper.  

        
       BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION: 
 
 
       /s/ Arnetta McRae    
       Chair 
 
 
       /s/ Joshua M. Twilley   
       Vice Chair 
 
 
       /s/ Joann T. Conaway    

Commissioner 
 
 
/s/ Donald J. Puglisi   
Commissioner 
 
 
/s/ Jaymes B. Lester   
Commissioner 

 
 
ATTEST: 
 
 
/s/ Karen J. Nickerson  
Secretary 
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E X H I B I T  "A" 
 
 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE 
 
 
IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF  )  
ARTESIAN WATER COMPANY, INC. FOR AN  ) PSC DOCKET NO. 04-42 
INCREASE IN WATER RATES    )  
(FILED FEBRUARY 5, 2004)    )  
 
 
 P U B L I C   N O T I C E 
 
 
TO: ALL CUSTOMERS OF ARTESIAN WATER COMPANY, INC., 

AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS 
 
 

On February 5, 2004, Artesian Water Company, Inc. ("Artesian" or "the 

Company") filed with the Delaware Public Service Commission ("the Commission") 

an application for an increase in its water service rates and for several 

changes to its tariffed rules and regulations.  The new proposed rates and 

charges are designed to produce additional annual revenues to the Company of 

approximately $8,800,000.  This is a proposed increase in annual revenue of 

approximately 24.22%. 

In the same application, Artesian also requests permission to revise its 

rules and regulations concerning, among other things: (1) adding language to 

charge $30.00 to customers who miss scheduled appointments; (2) deleting the 

“Standby Connection” section and adding a “Cross Connections” section; and (3) 

adding language to not mail refund checks totaling less than $10.00 to 

customers who have left Artesian’s service territory, but making these refunds 

available if requested by the former customer.  The Company is also requesting 

that the Commission reopen PSC Regulation Docket No. 13 to review interest 

rates for customer deposits. 

The following is a comparison of Artesian's present rates and those 

proposed in the application: 



WATER CHARGE 

 
Rate Per 1,000 Gallons 

 
  OLD RATE NEW RATE 
RESIDENTIAL: 
 
5,000 & Under           $3.682 $4.574 
5,0001 - 20,000         $3.925 $4.876 
20,001 & Over         $4.572    $5.679 
 
WHOLESALE INDUSTRIAL: 
 
All Consumption $2.273 $2.824 
 
ALL OTHER: 
 
First 500,000           $3.330 $4.137 
Over 500,000             $3.827    $4.754 

 
 
 

  All water registered on All water registered on  
bypass meters is current- bypass meters is current- 
ly billed at the rate of ly billed at the rate of 
$4.572 per 1,000 gallons. $5.679 per 1,000 gallons. 

 
 
 

MINIMUM QUARTERLY CHARGE 
 

Old Rate    New Rate 
 
    Meter Size 
  

5/8"    $ 28.35    $ 35.22 
3/4"    $ 34.03    $ 42.27 
1"    $ 45.37    $ 56.36 

 
 

1-1/2"   $ 30.25       $ 37.58 
2"      $ 39.71      $ 49.33  
3"    $ 60.50      $ 75.16 
4"    $ 86.97      $108.04 
6"         $151.26    $187.90 
8"         $226.88    $281.84 
10”    $359.23    $446.25 
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QUARTERLY FIRE HYDRANT READY TO SERVE CHARGE 
 

Old Rate    New Rate 
 
 Meter Size 
 

 5/8"    $  6.58         $  8.17 
 3/4"    $  9.87        $ 12.26 
 1"    $ 16.44 $ 20.42 
 

 
 

MONTHLY FIRE HYDRANT READY TO SERVE CHARGE 
 
 

Old Rate    New Rate 
 
 Meter Size 
 

 1-1/2"   $ 10.96    $ 13.61 
 2"      $ 17.53      $ 21.78  
 3"    $ 32.89      $ 40.86 
 4"    $ 54.81      $ 68.09 
 6"       $109.61      $136.16  
 8"    $174.93  $217.30 

  10”    $279.94    $347.75 
 
 
 
 PRIVATE FIRE PROTECTION 
 
 Quarterly Charge 
 

Old Rate    New Rate 
 

1-1/2" detector check  $    46.82    $    58.16 
    2" detector check  $    90.51     $   112.43 
    3" detector check    $   140.47     $   174.50 
    4" detector check  $   252.78    $   314.01 
    6" detector check    $   539.17    $   669.78 
    8" detector check    $   897.70     $ 1,115.15 
   10" detector check  $ 1,328.39    $ 1,650.17 
   12" detector check  $ 1,451.56    $ 1,803.18 
 
   Charge per         
   private hydrant  $   539.17     $   669.78 
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Pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 306(a)(1), the Commission has suspended the 

effectiveness of the proposed new rates and the proposed rule revisions 

pending further investigation and public evidentiary hearings, which will 

be held at a later date after further public notice.  However, the 

utility is expected to exercise its right under 26 Del. C. § 306(c) and 



place a portion of the proposed rate increase into effect under bond and 

subject to refund sixty (60) days after the February 5, 2004 filing date. 

The Commission will make its decision on this matter on the basis of 

the evidence of record taken at the public evidentiary hearings. The 

Commission may approve or reject, in whole or in part, the proposed 

increase and revisions and may approve a different method for allocating 

among rates any allowed increase in revenues should one be found to be 

appropriate. 

Any person wishing to participate as a party in this docket (PSC 

Docket No. 04-42) should file for leave to intervene with the Commission 

in accordance with Rule 21 of the Commission Rules of Practice and 

Procedure.  Such petitions should be filed on or before Wednesday, 

April 14, 2004 at the Commission's office located at: 

Delaware Public Service Commission 
861 Silver Lake Boulevard 
Cannon Building 
Suite 100 
Dover, Delaware 19904 

 
Petitions filed thereafter will not be considered except for good cause 

shown. 

Interested customers are urged to review the application and 

supporting materials to see how their individual interest may be 

affected.  Copies of the application are available for public inspection 

during normal business hours in the Commission's Dover office at the 

address listed above.  Copies may also be reviewed, by appointment, at 

the office of the Division of the Public Advocate located at the Carvel 

State Office Building, 4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, 

Delaware 19801.  Please call (302) 577-5077 to arrange for a time to 

review the documents at such location.  
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Any individual with disabilities who wishes to participate in, or to 

review these proceedings, should contact the Commission to discuss any 

auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such review or 

participation.  Such contact may be in person, by writing, by telephone, 

or otherwise.  For inquiries, the Commission's toll free telephone number 

(in Delaware) is 1-800-282-8574.  Any person with questions may also 

contact the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text Telephone at 

(302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by Internet e-mail to 

connie.mcdowell@state.de.us. 
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