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MEMORANDUM 

 

TO:  The Chair and Members of the Commission 

FROM:  Amy Woodward, Public Utility Analyst III 

SUBJECT: 
In the Matter of Defining “Good   ) 
Faith Effort to Make Payments” for ) 
Water, Gas and Electric Utility  ) PSC Docket No. 16-0295 
Customers with Certified Medical  ) 
Conditions (Filed March 30, 2016) ) 
 

 

STAFF FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

 
BACKGROUND 
 
On March 30, 2016 the Staff of the Public Service Commission of the 
State of Delaware (“Staff”) filed a petition requesting that the 
Commission open a docket to investigate whether the Commission should 
promulgate rules or regulations for an appropriate definition of “good 
faith effort to make payments” as permitted by 26 Del. C. §117(d). 

During 2012, the 146th General Assembly amended 26 Del. C. § 117(d) by 
passing House Bill 261, as amended by House Amendment No. 1 and Senate 
Amendment No. 1 (“House Bill 261”), making significant changes 
regarding how water, gas, and electric utilities may terminate 
services for non-payment when customers have a certified medical 
condition.  Under the previous legislation, the law was silent on 
requiring payments from customers for their utility service.  There 
were customers who made no effort to pay their utility bills and the 
utility could not terminate their service.  The current legislation 
states that a customer must make a “good faith effort” to pay his or 
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her bill.  However, the legislation does not define what constitutes a 
“good faith effort,” but it does state that the Commission may 
promulgate rules or regulation to create a definition. The legislation 
also requires customers to renew their medical certifications every 
120 days, whereas there was no renewal requirement in the previous 
version of the statute.  

Staff held two workshops to investigate current practices of the 
Commission’s regulated electric, gas, and water utilities. 

 
STAFF’S REVIEW PROCESS 
 
Staff held two public workshops (see minutes attached) in the 
Commission Hearing Room in accordance with Commission Order No. 8873 
(April 5, 2016).   The first workshop was held on Thursday, May 12, 
2016 with representatives from all of the regulated water, gas and 
electric utilities along with DPA, Staff, the Delaware Electric 
Cooperative and the Delaware Community Legal Aid and University of 
Delaware Center for Disabilities Studies.  Discussions took place in 
regards to the number of customers of each utility that have medical 
certificates and if any of these customers are delinquent and if so, 
are they on a payment plan and current on those plans.  The 
represented utilities only had a minimal number of customers with a 
medical certificate and only had a customer or two that had a 
delinquency issue, except for Delmarva Power & Light Company 
(“Delmarva”).  Prior to the passage of H.B. 261, Delmarva had 
approximately 1,000 customers with medical certifications and had a 
high level of delinquencies.  After the legislation amended the 
statute, Delmarva has seen a significant decrease in the number of 
customers with medical certifications. The number of customers with 
medical certificates has decreased by over 75% to only having 378 
actively enrolled in the program.  The change in legislation now 
requires payments from customers to be made in the 120-day period to 
be eligible to remain active in the medical certification program.  
Every 120 days the customer is required to renew the certification by 
getting approval from a doctor, nurse, or physician’s assistant.   If 
no payment is made during the 120-day certification, it will lead to 
termination of service regardless of whether the customer has renewed 
their certification.  So it is possible that under the new 120-day 
renewal requirement, utilities may have medically certified customers 
without utility service.  However, the good faith effort to make 
payment is interpreted by the utility to require at least some payment 
arrangement and payment during the 120-day period.  Delmarva is 
currently working with these 378 actively enrolled customers with 
payment arrangements. 

At the second workshop held June 15, 2016, the parties were asked to 
provide a copy of their internal written policy on delinquent bills 
and how they handle delinquent customers who currently are enrolled in 
the medical certification program.  Staff’s attorney Brenda Mayrack 



provided the group with information regarding “good faith” definitions 
in other state jurisdictions.   See the attached memo.   

STAFF CONCLUSIONS & RECOMMENDATIONS 
 
Staff received current written and verbal policies of its regulated 
water, gas and electric utilities concerning delinquent bills and how 
they handle delinquent customers who are currently enrolled in the 
medical certification program.   

Since these utilities have policies that appear to be reasonable and 
working, it is Staff’s opinion that the Commission does not need to 
promulgate a regulation to define “good faith effort to make 
payments.”  It is Staff’s recommendation that an order be put forth to 
the Commission along with this report from Staff that no action needs 
to be taken at this time and to close this docket. 
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MINUTES 

 

 

 

Date:  May 16, 2016 

From:  Amy Woodward, Public Utility Analyst 

Re:  In the Matter of Defining “Good Faith Effort to Make Payments” for Water, Gas and Electric Utility 
Customers with Certified Medical Conditions - PSC Docket No. 16-0295 

 

Pursuant to Order No. 8873 signed on April 5, 2016 there was a public workshop held in the Commission 
Hearing Room on Thursday May 12, 2016 at 10am.  There were representatives from all the Class A 
utilities along with DPA, Staff, the Delaware Electric Cooperative and Delaware Community Legal Aid and 
University of Delaware Center for Disabilities Studies.  (See attached Attendee List). An agenda was 
presented to the parties and the floor also remained open for any issues the parties wished to discuss 
related to the docket (See agenda attached).  The utilities were asked to provide statistics in relation to 
numbers of their customers currently that would be affected by defining “good faith effort to make 
payments.” 

Delmarva Power 

Representatives from Delmarva stated it currently has 378 residential customers actively enrolled in the 
Medical Certification Program and 201 with a payment arrangement.  Delmarva also defines the term by 
any customer making consistent payments toward their bill.  The majority of these customers on the 
program are in Newark and Wilmington.  

Tidewater Utilities 

Representatives from Tidewater stated that they currently have 24 accounts enrolled in the medical 
certification program and bill their customers quarterly.  They put them immediately on a payment plan 
if they cannot pay their bill. 
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Artesian Water Company 

They stated they currently only have 2 customers and they are in payment arrearage but on a payment 
plan.  They only charge $50 month and try to keep their customers up to date monthly and are 
successful at doing so. 

Suez 

A representative stated that they only have 4 accounts that have a medical certification associated with 
them and the average balance of these accounts is about $35.00. 

Chesapeake Utilities 

Representatives stated they only have 2 customers with medical certifications on file and one of these is 
currently past due. 

There was also discussion around how many payments must be made in 120 day period to remain in the 
medical certification program.  Every 120 days the customer is required to renew the certification by 
getting approval through a doctor, nurse, or physician’s assistant.  Representatives from the University 
of Delaware Center for Disabilities commented that if customers are current they should not have to get 
re-certified every 120 days.  However, it was noted that this requirement is a function of Delaware Law 
and not something the Commission can amend.   

There appeared to be consensus among the represented utilities that “good faith effort to make 
payments” did not really affect their business as substantially as it does Delmarva.  Delmarva noted that 
it has significantly seen a decrease in the number of fraud cases with the medical certifications since the 
120 day certification law has been enacted.  They have decreased those customers by over 75% to only 
having 378 actively enrolled in the program. 

The next workshop will be held June 15, 2016 at 10am to review the minutes from this workshop and to 
make a final determination if at this time the group feels that we need to define and give more 
clarification and consistency to customers of these utilities or if we should leave the regulations as they 
currently are stated.  Another possibility is for the utilities to file their policies with the Commission and 
Public Advocate on a confidential basis and not promulgate regulations. 
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Date:  June 30, 2016 

From:  Amy Woodward, Public Utility Analyst 

Re:  In the Matter of Defining “Good Faith Effort to Make Payments” for Water, Gas and Electric Utility 
Customers with Certified Medical Conditions - PSC Docket No. 16-0295 

 

Pursuant to Order No. 8873 signed on April 5, 2016 there was a public workshop held in the Commission 
Hearing Room on Wednesday June 15, 2016 at 10am.  There were representatives from all the Class A 
utilities along with DPA, Staff, and the Delaware Electric Cooperative.  (See attached Attendee List).  An 
agenda was presented to the parties and the floor also remained open for any issues the parties wished 
to discuss related to the docket (See agenda attached).  The utilities were asked to provide statistics in 
relation to numbers of their customers currently that would be affected by defining “good faith effort to 
make payments.” 

Parties were asked to provide a copy of their internal written policy on delinquent bills and how they 
handle delinquent customers who currently are enrolled in the medical certification program.  Artesian 
Water said they currently have no written policy other than what they have stated in their tariff regards 
to delinquent bills.  Chesapeake Utilities only has one customer with a medical certification so they don’t 
really have a need for a specific policy.  They do however have a policy on collections and offer a 
payment plan to avoid disconnection of service.  Delmarva is going to provide us with a copy of their 
policy at a later date.   

Staff’s attorney Brenda Mayrack provided the group with information regarding “good faith” definitions 
in other state jurisdictions.  These will be discussed more in depth in the report to the Commission.   
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There appeared to be a consensus among those in attendance that the Commission does not at this 
time need to promulgate a regulation to define “good faith effort to make payments.”  An order will be 
put forth to the Commission along with Staff’s findings and recommendations for further approval. 

  



MATTHEW P. DENN 
ATTORNEY GENERAL 

 
 

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
KENT COUNTY 

102 WEST WATER STREET 
DOVER, DELAWARE 19904 

CIVIL DIVISION (302) 739-7641 
FAX (302) 739-7652 

CRIMINAL DIVISION (302) 739-4211 
FAX (302) 739-6727 

 

Comment  

 

TO:   Public Service Commission Docket No. 16-0295 Participants 

FROM:  Brenda Mayrack, Esq., Deputy Attorney General 
Bridget Brainard, Law Clerk 

 

RE:  Defining a “Good Faith Effort to Make Payments” for Utility Customers with 
Certified Medical Conditions in Other Jurisdictions 

DATE:  June 30, 2016 

 

There do not appear to be any other states that require, as Delaware does, that a 
medically-certified customer “make[] a good faith effort to make payments towards the utility 
service being provided” to avoid termination of service.1   

Several states have somewhat similar language to Delaware’s “good faith effort” standard 
but do not provide a more specific definition.  Pennsylvania requires medically certified 
customers to “equitably make payments on all bills.”2  Wisconsin requires that the “utility and 
occupant shall work together to develop resources and make reasonable payment 
arrangements.”3  Maryland requires that utilities, not customers, “in good faith” attempt to 
negotiate a reasonable alternate payment plan with all “low income” customers, not just those 
who are medically certified.4 

                                                           
1 26 Del. C. § 117(d).  BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY defines “good faith” as a “state of mind 
consisting in 1) honesty in belief or purpose, 2) faithfulness to one’s duty or obligation, 3) 
observance of reasonable commercial standards of fair dealing in a given trade or business, 4) 
absence of intent to defraud or to seek unconscionable advantage.”  The DELAWARE CODE 
contains approximately fifty references to “good faith,” but none appear to be defined.  There are 
thousands of Delaware court decisions discussing “good faith” in the corporate or other contexts, 
but none that are necessarily directly applicable here.   
2 52 PA. C. § 56.114(2). 
3 WIS. ADMIN. C. § PSC 113.0301. 
4 MD. ADMIN. C. § 20.31.01.08(A). 



 

Two states specifically define a minimum payment amount for medically certified 
customers:  

 

• Illinois requires a medically certified customer to pay an amount equal to 1/12th of the 
total amount owing for utility services if the valid medical certification is received prior 
to disconnection and an amount equal to 1/4th of the total amount owing for utility 
services, with the remaining balance divided equally among the next nine payments, if 
the valid medical certification is received after disconnection.5 
 

• Montana requires the utility and customer to negotiate an equitable payment arrangement 
that is “reasonable and consistent with the customer’s ability to pay.”  If the customer 
fails to make payments as established, resulting in an arrearage of $500 or more, the 
customer is required to enter into and comply with a monthly payment arrangement equal 
to the average of the last 12 months’ billing plus 1/12th of the arrearage. Failure to enter 
into a monthly payment arrangement and make payments will result in disconnection 
proceedings.6 

 

Several other states require a payment plan or arrangement for medically certified 
customers but do not specifically define a minimum sufficient payment: District of Columbia,7 
Iowa,8 Maryland,9 New Hampshire,10 North Dakota,11 Oklahoma,12 Pennsylvania,13 and 
Wisconsin.14 

 

                                                           
5 83 ILL. ADMIN. C. § 280.160(i). 
6 MONT. ADMIN. R. § 38.5.1411. 
7 15 D.C. MUN. R. § 311; 15 D.C. MUN. R. § 306. 
8 IA. ADMIN. C. § 199-20.4(15) (“reasonable payment agreement” required); IA. ADMIN. C. § 199-
20.4(11)b. 
9 MD. ADMIN. C. § 20.31.03.01(D); MD. ADMIN. C. § 20.31.01.08 (“reasonable alternate payment 
plan” required). 
10 N.H. ADMIN. R. § PUC 1205.03(a)-(b). 
11 N.D. ADMIN. C. § 69-09-01-18.1(1). 
12 OKLA. ADMIN. C. § 165:45-11-14(f)(4). 
13 52 PA. C. § 56.114 (medically certified customer has “obligation to … equitably make 
payments on all bills”); 52 PA. C. § 56.116 (medically certified customer “shall retain a duty to 
make payment”). 
14 WIS. ADMIN C. § PSC 113.0301(13)(a) (After providing “a licensed Wisconsin physician’s 
statement or notice from a public health, social services, or law enforcement official which 
identifies the medical or protective services emergency and specifies the period of time during 
which disconnection will aggravate the circumstances,” the utility shall postpone the 
disconnection of service, and “[d]uring the extension of service, the utility and customer shall 
work together to develop resources and make reasonable payment arrangements in order to 
continue the service on a permanent basis.). 



Iowa15 and Maryland16 offer factors to be considered in determining any customer’s 
payment plan, including but not limited specifically to those who are medically certified, but do 
not specifically define the required minimum payment. 

 

Oregon requires that medically certified customers enter into a “written time-payment 
agreement” in accordance with the regulations that apply to all customers, not just those with a 
medical certification, which require a minimum payment of 1/12th of the arrearage.17 

 

 

* * * 

 

 

 

                                                           
15 IA. ADMIN. C. § 199-20.4(11)b. 
16 MD. ADMIN. C. § 20.31.01.08(E). 
17 ORE. ADMIN. R. § 860-021-0410(5); ORE. ADMIN. R. § 860-021-0415(3). 


