BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF )
UNITED WATER DELAWARE INC., TO )
IMPOSE UNDER 75 DEL. LAWS. CH. 142 )
8§ 5 (2005), AN ASSESSMENT ADJUSTMENT ) PSC DOCKET NO. 05-331
CHARGE TO REFLECT THE INCREASE IN THE )
ASSESSMENT RATE IMPOSED BY 26 DEL. C. )
8§ 115 (FILED SEPTEMBER 15, 2005) )
ORDER NO. 6729

This 20t day of September, 2005, the Commission determines and
Orders the following:

1. As the Commission has explained (in somewhat greater
detail) in PSC Order No. 6700 (Aug. 23, 2005), in July 2005, the
General Assembly and Governor increased the assessment factor used in
calculating the annual assessment that is paid by public utilities and
retail electric suppliers. The factor has now moved from 2 mills
(.002) to 3 mills (.003).}

2. On September 15, 2005, United Water Delaware Inc. (“United
Water”) filed an application seeking approval to implement a separate
line item charge to recover the incremental costs it will incur due to

this 1 mill increase in the assessment factor.? Under United Water’s

proposal, it will assess a monthly charge in an amount equal to .00409

'See 75 Del. Laws ch. 142 § 1 (July 12, 2005), changing the assessment
factor in 26 Del. C. § 115(d) from 2 mills to 3 mills. The assessment factor
is multiplied against the utility’s or supplier’s prior calendar year gross
revenues to determine the monetary assessment due to be paid.

2The July 2005 law specifically allows utilities and retail electric
suppliers to recover the incremental costs resulting from the increased
assessment factor and allows those entities to use a separate charge on
subscribers” bills as the vehicle to do so. See 75 Del. Laws ch. 142 8 5
(2005).



of the subscriber’s monthly charges for regulated water services.
That factor will prevail until January 1, 2006. On that date, United
Water proposes, the 1line charge factor will vrevert to .001,
representing the 1 mill increase in the assessment factor.
Eventually, United Water says the additional assessment costs will be
rolled into its regular rates (which already recover 2 mills of the
assessment factor).

3. The particular line charge factor (.00409) proposed by
United Water is greater than the 1 mill iIncrease because United Water
proposes to collect in the period from October 1 through December 31,
2005, the increased costs resulting from applying the 3 mill factor to
United Water’s gross revenues for the entire 2005 year.®

4. The Staff recommends approval of the separate line charge
to prevail until January 1, 2006 and approval to reset the line charge
factor to .001 on January 1, 2006.

5. The statutory directive In the July 2005 enactment is for
the Commission to act promptly iIn reviewing United Water’s proposal
and allow the necessary rate adjustment to go into effect as promptly
as reasonably practicable. Based on Staff’s recommendation, the
Commission now approves United Water’s line charge proposal and the
.00409 line charge factor. The line charge factor shall govern until

January 1, 2006 and then will be reset to .001l.

3See PSC Order No. 6700 at T 4 (explaining how the increased assessment
factor, enacted in July 2005, will be applied to a utility’s gross revenues
for the entire 2005 year).




Now, therefore, IT 1S ORDERED:

1. That, pursuant to 75 Del. Laws ch. 142 §8 5 (2005), the
application filed by United Water Delaware Inc., on September 15,
2005, seeking permission to 1i1mplement a separate Hline charge to
recover the incremental costs associated with the increase in the
annual adjustment factor enacted by 75 Del. Laws ch. 142, 1is hereby
approved. United Water Delaware Inc., is hereby authorized to impose
a separate charge on its subscribers” bills in the amount of .00409 of
the particular subscriber’s total charges for regulated water
services. The .00409 line charge factor shall be effective October 1,
2005. This line charge factor shall govern until January 1, 2006.

2. That on January 1, 2006, United Water Delaware Inc., shall
reset the line charge factor to .001 for the year 2006 and thereafter
until the next base rate case.

3. That United Water Delaware Inc., shall make a compliance
filing to incorporate into its Tariff the line charge and line charge
factor set forth in its application filed September 15, 2005.

4. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority
to enter such further Orders iIn this matter as may be deemed necessary
or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

/s/ Arnetta McRae
Chair

Vice Chair
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ATTEST:

/s/ Karen J. Nickerson

Secretary

/s/ Joann T. Conaway

Commissioner

/s/ Dallas Winslow

Commissioner

/s/ Jaymes B. Lester

Commissioner



